June 25, 1984- On this momentous day a small group of dedicated, faithful believers found themselves without a Church home.  Although they were few in number and committed to the Lord Jesus Christ, they needed a place of Worship.

July 1st-The first meeting was held in the home of Bro. & Sis. Evans Jackson.  In attendance was a total of twenty-six.  Being on one accord and praying to God, the group was led by the Spirit to organize.  By the divine will of God, a great work began under the leadership of Rev. Larry W. Jackson, Sr., Rev. Leonard Prudhomme, Bro. Ike Hunter, Bro. Evans Jackson, Bro. Lawrence Johnson, Sr., Bro. Tommy Neal, Bro. William Walker, Sr. and Bro. Clifford Johnson.  The meetings continued in the home of Bro. & Sis. Evans Jackson (deceased), with only one meeting in the home of Bro. & Sis. Jon Baker. 

July 5th-The first location was found at 3902 Corto by Sis. Gloria Rattler. Rev. Rose (deceased) the Pastor of New Macedonia Baptist Church allowed the use of his church building for worship.  

July 11th-Rev. Larry Jackson accepted the appointment of Officiating Pastor until the group selected a Pastor. 

July 15th-The first Worship Service was held.  The sermon was "Serving the Savior Sometimes Means Suffering"-Matt. 5:43-44, 1 Peter 3:14-17.

July 22nd-The church chose the name by which it would be identified, Smyrna Missionary Baptist Church, (Rev. 2:8). The name was presented by Sis. Annie Jackson, the first Lady. 

July 25th-The members assembled on one accord to organize as a church body in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.  As a result, the Church officially organized.  Pastor J. O. Nelson (deceased) of True Doctrine Baptist Church conducted the Installation Service.  Total membership was sixty. Deacons, Teachers and Officers were appointed, and members were given the right hand of fellowship by our Officiating Pastor-Rev. Larry W. Jackson Sr.

The appointed Deacons were:  Deacon Ike Hunter (deceased), Deacon Lawrence Johnson, Sr., Deacon Evans Jackson (deceased), Deacon Williams Walker, Deacon Tommy Neal (deceased), and Deacon Clifford Johnson.  Also appointed was our Church Clerk-Sis. Bettye Flakes and the Church Secretary-Sis. Deloris Johnson. Mother of the church was later appointed, Sis. Lacy Beard (deceased), Sis. Pearl Nickerson (deceased) and currently Sis. Ora Maxie. 

During his early ministry, Pastor declared our churches motto as, "One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism, We are One-Eph. 4:5

September 16, 1984-The membership of Smyrna's church family faithfully accepted God's choice as Pastor/Teacher, Rev. Larry W. Jackson, Sr.  "I will give you pastors according to mine heart, which shall feed you with knowledge and understandings" Jeremiah 3:15. 

October 14th- Installation services were held for Pastor Jackson.  His motto was that he was married to the Smyrna Church Family with no grounds for divorce (only separated by death).

June 2, 1985-Two additional deacons were added to the Church-Bro. Percy Burton and Bro. Clifton Jackson (deceased).   

In October-The Food Auxiliary Ministry & Tape & Publication Ministry was born, Pastor taped the "Institution of the Family".

November 6th-Smyrna had its first Revival.

The year of 1986- Was a prosperous year. Smyrna was growing in numbers and in January a Church Van was purchased.  We launched our community Street Ministry.  Our drivers were:  Deacon Percy Burton and Deacon Clifton Jackson (both deceased).  

December 1, 1987-We purchased the property where we are now located.  

February 1988- We supported The Foreign Mission in (Central America-Belize).


July 3, 1988- Three Deacons was added to the Church-Deacon Joe Butler, Deacon Raymond Pipkin, Deacon Jessie Gladney.  Many more Deacons was added to the church under the leadership of Pastor Jackson.

June 2, 1989-Smyrna purchased the building we now occupy from Morning Star Baptist Church, Pastor J.C.Van Dyke.

October 1989-The building was moved to its present location. 

October 22, 1989-Pastor Lenard Allen, Sr. and members of his church joined the Smyrna Church family.  Pastor Allen later became Assistant Pastor and Minister of Education of the Sunday School Department. Later called to Pastor another church.

January 13, 1990-Renovation began on the sanctuary.  

In November 1990-Smyrna turned its attention to our Military armed forced and began praying for our men and women in the Gulf.  Our Pastor started a Military correspondence through our Youth Department.  Reminding our soldiers that our love, prayers and thoughts were with them and we were anticipating their safe return.  We thank God, all returned home safely.

March 31, 1991-Easter Sunday we entered the sanctuary.  Joy unspeakable joy abounded as we celebrated Resurrection Sunday and thanking God for His many blessings.

November 23, 1992-Weedy Street property was purchased.

November 23, 1993-We paid off Weedy Street property, which is now called Lampstand Arena, Inc.

April 17, 1994-Our Church By-Laws were reconstructed for the purpose of Incorporation and were adopted by the Church body.  Smyrna is now Smyrna Missionary Baptist Church, Inc. 

June 5, 1994-Our Board of Trustees were appointed.

April 7, 1995-Property to the right of this building was purchased to build Hunter Hall, which is named after the late Deacon Ike Hunter who worked tirelessly and faithfully to complete our grounds.  Hunter Hall building was completed in 2004.

May 12, 2019-God in His infinite wisdom and divine providence ended the earthly life of Dr. Larry W. Jackson, Sr. The entire Smyrna Church Family shared in the loss of our beloved pastor.  For 35 years he demonstrated great faith in Jesus Christ and an unwavering commitment to Smyrna Baptist Church.  There was no other place he would rather be on Sunday and Tuesday night.           He was a great husband, father and provider for his family.  He loved teaching and preaching the word of God. Under Pastor Jackson many preachers were added to the ministry, they were:

Rev. Don Stephenson(deceased),Rev. Rennie Battist, Rev. Sterling Parker, Rev. Reginald Terry, Pastor Raymond Pipkin, Pastor Lenard Allen, Sr., Rev. Jimmie Derry, Rev. Elvan Hurrington, Sr.,

Rev. Alvin Williams, Rev. Allen Wayne Livingston(deceased),Rev. Alfred Cornish, Rev. Alvin Ouzenne, Rev. Keith Fisher (deceased) Rev. U.L. Franklin II, Rev. Kevin Daniels, Rev. Cedric Sanders, Pastor Chris Jackson, Rev. Reginald Smith, Rev. Michael Winzer, Rev. Thurmon Smith, Rev. Kennneth Davis, Sr., and Rev. Philip Parker. He had 44 years of marriage that formed a special bond with his wife,  Sis. Annie Jackson, affectionately known as "Boo".  He will forever be in our hearts, His Homegoing Celebration was on Friday, May 17, 2019 at Greater Jerusalem Baptist Church, Pastor Joe Fred Russell one of his dearest friend. 


November 10, 2019-Rev. Terrance Jermayne O'Neil, who had been chosen as our pastor/elect preached his first sermon.  He brought his entire family and we celebrated with them. He has been married for 22 years to Winona O'Neil, they have four sons.  

February 16, 2020-Rev. Terrance Jermayne O'Neil was Install as our new Pastor of Smyrna Missionary Baptist Church.  (See Meet our Pastor & First Lady page).

3315 Laura Koppe Rd.

Houston, TX 77093




Follow Us on Facebook

© 2015.Smyrna Baptist Church. All Rights Reserved.  Designed by In-Virtue Design